Triangle Tech Complaint

Triangle Tech Complaint

ADVERTISEMENT

The Triangle Tech Scam - education


Triangle Tech is a Pennsylvania trade school, located in Pittsburg, Dubois, Erie, Bethlehem, Sunbury, and Greensburg. The school in particular I speak of is the Erie Triangle Tech. Its programs are Maintenance Electricity, Architectural and Mechanical Drafting, HVAC technologies, carpentry and construction, and welding. Basically you are bribed into the school, only to be greeted by a bunch of lies. This article is solely based on my experience.

1. The school preys on kids from low class neighborhoods, and the country area. Because they think that those kids will not get into college. The school does not get a lot of students. At most, the school has 50 students. So they bribe students in, making false advertisements. They say it is a good school for all kinds of people, left brained(Mathematical, logical), Right brained(Artistic, Creative), free thinker, stickler, someone who wants to move up, or someone who will just stay in their position. But really, this school only caters to people who are technical, order takers, and people who do not want to move up in life. But it also caters to people who have worked several years, and want a little more education. Plus, the school seems to cater to trashy people.
2. The instructors, who as advertised are more than willing to help are falsely advertised. In fact, several will not even help you. You have a problem with an assignment, and they either do not help you, give you one word answers, or act like you’re stupid, just cause you need the help. From my experience, one teacher, you could work really hard, which would not be good enough. Another teacher never even taught, but just spoke about every boring job he had. Another teacher spent most of the class time outside smoking cigarettes, rather than teach. She always found extremely stupid stuff to take point off for, and not just 3, like 15. Plus, several of the instructors are rude, and have no personalities, or a willingness to help. Plus, all the teachers are real tight, and in your hair about how lousy you are, but don’t help.
3. The classes for architectural drafting, are literally based solely on everything to do with drafting, and limited architecture. Plus, most of the classes are math based, and flipping through confusing charts, but we do not get an art class. We had to draft out a whole house in 2nd semester by board instead of CADD. Third semester, we had this tedious strengths of materials class, which was taught so quickly, and then at the end, every week a test. Plus, we got to endure a class all about HVAC, plumbing and electricity, over the course of three weeks. 4th semester, you have to take 2 pointless classes having nothing to do with architecture, a class all about piping, which was all copying piping plans. Then there is this steel class, which includes sheet metal, welding, which was more math, and structural steel detailing, which was all math, and flipping through charts. So none of the classes nurture a creative side, and some classes discourage it completely.
4. The schedule is four 1.5 hour classes a day, four periods, and 3 classes, with one stretching 3 hours. So just like a highschool day. Get up early. Then there’s the year schedule. Short holiday breaks, with no summer vacation. Plus, the worst part, summer term has the least days off. So you are pretty much stuck in school, unable to enjoy the nice weather. But you get time off during the winter when there is nothing to do.
5. Student life is the worst. The schools seems to attract the kids in highschool who were the trouble makers, everyone wanted to avoid. That’s what the students are typically like. So no point hanging around them. So the school is really quite like jail.
6. So, in conclusion, this is how it works out. You get everything you hate from Elementary, Middle, High school and college. Elementary-With the same teachers all day, same students all day. Middle-No electives, and over controlling teachers. Highschool-getting up early, and difficult classes. College-Teachers not required to know how to teach, and tougher classes.


Share This Review:



         


Is this your Business? Claim Your Business Free and reply to this customer

CONTACT THIS BUSINESS

Post a reply for this review COMMENT
WRITE to Triangle Tech
SUBMIT a ticket
for Triangle Tech
WATCH videos
for Triangle Tech
More Triangle Tech Reviews and Complaints MORE reviews and complaints
for Triangle Tech

BUSINESSES REPLY HERE

Claim this company BUSINESSES: CLAIM YOUR BUSINESS NAME FREE
Respond to this review BUSINESSES: REPLY TO THIS CUSTOMER NOW
Link to MeasuredUp BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Excellence Badge
Take the pledge BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Pledge Badge
Upgrade Account BUSINESSES: Build your customer service online reputation


ADVERTISEMENT


Comments


poppop3875 says: (5 months ago)
 0
I attend the erie school and I don't know what this guy is talking about. Everything he said is crap, or maybe it was just him. I have found nothing but helpful instructors, and extremely knowledgeable. You can't tell me an instructor with 40+ years in the field, and union, and a master electrician doesn't know what he's talking about, and that's second semester, the fourth semester teacher a fricken genius, and a qualified inspector. I've got to know the drafting g instructors as well, extremely pleasant and intelligent people. I earned a degree in drafting ( mechanical) from a different school and we drafted on board and paper for near a year before we got to play on the computer...and as for math, what kind of drafting are you going to do without stress and tensions? As for plumbing, that's part of civil engineering in case you ever had an interest in that area... unreal!



Knightstesla says: (1 year ago)
 0
I am going to school in Bethlehem and man,I am learning a lot.Teachers are great,very helpful. I am 41 years old and in class with a whole bunch of different people. All of whch are some good people. Guess I got lucky with the time I jwent,because the teachers here are truthful about careers and helpful.Sorry you had bad tme at yours but the school I am at is awesome.lol



tritechassassin says: (3 years ago)
 0
im in my 3rd term ME in Dubois. It sucks to make an accurate assessment of the school bc im one of the few, i believe, that has extensive life experiences when it comes to jobs, living in different states/areas, and also educational institutions. For a fella who has none of these experiences, they WILL have a different outlook than the one im going to give. In comparison to the other schools ive been in, tri-tech is by far the most scam type, unprofessional, and untruthful. First; lets talk about the famous "professionalism". Is it professional to hire folks who may know their field, but cant effectively teach it to others, bc of absolutely no training on how to teach? is it professional to have an ast director who is younger than most of the students and smokes with them? Is it professional to kill two birds with one stone by moving a CAFETERIA WORKER to be a JOB PLACEMENT (unbelievable) adviser for the whole school? I could go on and on and on with this one. I like learning from teachers who cant read and write, who have self respect/esteem issues, (therefore hanging out with students instead of teaching them). I like having a lab(which promotes safety) the size of a large closet with 17 students who, for the most part, are looking at lab time as the perfect time for recess. Most of these students have no ambition to actually do anything with their lives at this point.Thats ok tho bc tri-tech caters to these students since most other decent ones are enrolled at real schools.This leads me into the untruthful side of it. I like electricity, i want to be an electrician, already have associates in engineering, already know how to run a company. the few of us who actually come here for this reason, (the reason the school existed-i thought)we get screwed. Why you ask? Hmmm lets see. well once the simple piece of lecture is lectured guess what time it is? Recess of course. I love driving 35 miles at near 4$ a gal to take three notes and B.S. about black-ops or some other male, mid twentys something story. Feakn awesome... nothing like wasting a shit-pile of money in a shit economy on a shit school, that has shit teachers teaching an awesome, intellectual, multifaceted course in a SHITTY WAY! But the best thing is when u decide for yourself that its better (much more economical) somedays to stay home than to waste your resources on the dumb shit at tri-tech and the school bitches at you claiming your not acting professional and that your supposed to treat it like a job....LOLOLOLOLOLOL. In that case, lets consider the idea of me treating it like i work for triangle tech..wait...I might be ahead of the game in that case. I wish I wouldve just stayed with the engineering or smthn where professionals actually teach. And professionals who kick idiots out of class for talking about black-ops or some other non-school affiliated crap and disrupting class. not the type of half-ass professionals who embrace the dumb shit at the expense of those who arent so dumb. If the school only cost 15,000, i,d be a little more patient, hoewever, the cost is 32,000 and GOING UP EVERY SEMESTER. AT this price I should be able to bitch about every possible little thing i can. The funny thing is that im actually payying for mine, not a company owhile i collect unemployment like 85% pf tri-techs student body.... So that just makes me wanna bitch more and more. which brings me to the scam part of our story. Like most scams, you usually get an offer for something that sounds great, has rewards of some type, and is sold hook, line, and sinker to ya bc of what SEEMS to be an unbelievable value. Sound familiar? Welcome to triangle tech.. U didnt actually think they would tell you all of the things that you've heard on this post did ya? Of course not. so then, what could they possibly tell you? "So much of a pecentage of school here is hands on" - B.S.. Cut that in half or more if you want to know the truth. "We have lifetime job placement" I hope its with x-box bc thats all we learn about, plus ive asked other graduates of the school and nobody has done it. Now why would such an awesome career center not be so utilized by its incredible students? Might be something to check into b4 u sign up. I hate the freakn place with the passion ad cant wait till Feb when im done to spiral into the most unworthy debt ever. thanks triangle tech.



db1321 says: (3 years ago)
 0
If you are considering going to Triangle Tech in Pittsburgh do yourself the biggest favor of your life and don't. I have absolutely no idea how this place became accredited. In a nutshell it's like a giant summercamp for special needs children, except for some un-godly reason they've all been given power tools and ciggarette breaks. They are mostly treated as such and are frequently required to wear helmets here, or as they call them hardhats, on most occasions. The school administration persons seemingly do nothing. They lock themselves in their offices for most of the day and occasionally gather for meetings to discuss new and inventive ways to deprive the student body of marginal at best education. Mr. Brock, who is either the head of the school or the guy who lost some sort of bet and is made to bear responsibility for the whole circus is a recovering alcoholic who occasionally relapses and goes into wild drunken fits at the slightest provocation. Mr. Beedle, a closeted homosexual, can often be spotted making unwelcome advances on timid and unsuspecting first term students. Teria, who will be handling the financial aspects of your education is a competitive eater. Her rigerous training schedule allows her little time to do the day to day aspects of her job, thus any semblance of financial solvency you had coming into this unholy haven of the mentally challenged, will be gone somewhere between your first and second term.



db1321 says: (3 years ago)
 0
If you are considering going to Triangle Tech in Pittsburgh do yourself the biggest favor of your life and don't. I have absolutely no idea how this place became accredited. In a nutshell it's like a giant summercamp for special needs children, except for some un-godly reason they've all been given power tools and ciggarette breaks. They are mostly treated as such and are frequently required to wear helmets here, or as they call them hardhats, on most occasions. The school administration persons seemingly do nothing. They lock themselves in their offices for most of the day and occasionally gather for meetings to discuss new and inventive ways to deprive the student body of marginal at best education. Mr. Brock, who is either the head of the school or the guy who lost some sort of bet and is made to bear responsibility for the whole circus is a recovering alcoholic who occasionally relapses and goes into wild drunken fits at the slightest provocation. Mr. Beedle, a closeted homosexual, can often be spotted making unwelcome advances on timid and unsuspecting first term students. Teria, who will be handling the financial aspects of your education is a competitive eater. Her rigerous training schedule allows her little time to do the day to day aspects of her job, thus any semblance of financial solvency you had coming into this unholy haven of the mentally challenged, will be gone somewhere between your first and second term.



ppibburr says: (4 years ago)
 0
I took the ME course at Du Bois.
Overall this post is way off. I had helpful instructors, Great field realated instruction and hands on. The program is designed to give you what you want to get out of it, if you want to excel, they give you the tools, you must apply it. They dont hold your hand. Within weeks if graduation they placed me with a job that has led to several steps of advancemet in my career. I am now 25yrs old and hold the senior electrical control technician bid at a division in a world leading architectural products manufacturer.



JokeTech says: (4 years ago)
 0
the school is a joke they even spelled sunbury wrong on the advertisement, sunberry



JokeTech says: (4 years ago)
 0
I Go to Sunbury in the ME program, and the assistant director is a joke as well as the program you have the classes you would think you want to learn, but they give you the worse possible books and the teachers for the most part suck and like he said before me the one teacher sits and just points at the board with a laser pointer and has you hightlight all the bold and itallic print in the book, like thats not why its bold or itallic in the first place.



whatajoke says: (4 years ago)
 0
Yeah i go to the Sunury one for ME program and we have a teacher that just highlights from the book and thats it.. and calls in teaching its a "fly and be Free" course GOOD LUCK



benemily2 says: (4 years ago)
 0
my son is interested in the HVAC program at Triangle Tech in Greensburg. Any comments on this program in Greensburg?



infern86 says: (4 years ago)
 0
The school is not too bad, but like the person above says maybe the problem is you



pittpanther says: (5 years ago)
 0
I attend in pittsburgh currently. I will tell you this . I have learned more in a week at my school than i ever have anywhere else. Everyone there has been professional and helpful. But i am in the welding school so cant speak for others. But i do enjoy my school and it is challenging.



maddrafter says: (5 years ago)
 0
I attend the Dubois campus for mech computer aided drafting was told would get extensive 3d modeling get there and was told limited at best plus we are doing all are drawings on a board who does that any more. drafting instructor is horrible she knows nothing about mechanics. stay away very far away. the only reason still there can't transfer my TRA money.



LarryMall says: (5 years ago)
 0
Well I am currently attending the Dubois campus, and I would have to say he hit the nail on the head



Ihatesparksryder says: (5 years ago)
 0
SparksRyder, this person was giving his honest opinion. Try to watch the mouth.
As to whether the school is bad is unknown. But the review is not too pretty



SparksRyder says: (5 years ago)
 0
You're quite the ignorant prick, did you know that? Don't judge all the schools based on your experiences with the one in Erie. And you speak of the students in Erie as being trashy people-- could you be one yourself, seeing how you went there?`




login with Facebook and share your reviews

More Triangle Tech reviews


Similar reviews


[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team